Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Tripura chosen for Krishi Karman Awards


Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Tripura have been chosen for the Krishi Karman awards for 2015-16 for their good performance in the production of food grains.

The awards were divided into three categories Large, medium and small.

Here is how states has been awarded as per the categories:

Tamil Nadu chosen in large category for producing more than 10 million tonnes
Himachal Pradesh is under medium category that ranges from 1 to 10 million tonnes production

Tripura for small category less than 1 million tonnes.

Meghalaya state will also get commendation prize of Rs 1 crore cash for total food grain production.

During the year 2015-2016, Tamil Nadu had produced 130 lakh tonnes of foodgrains and it is the highest in the last five years.

For this acheivement, Tamil Nadu will receive prize money of Rs 5 crore. This is the fourth time Tamil Nadu is getting this prize. Earlier Tamil Nadu had bagged the award in 2011-12 for highest food grains production, in 2013-14 for highest pulses production and in 2014-15 for highest coarse cereals production.

Tripura has been selected for the Krishi Karman Award 2015-16 in small category states for a commendable increase in food grain production.

Total 825,000 tonnes of food grain in 2016 were produced by the state. A cash award of Rs five crore will also be given to Tripura. It is the second time Tripura getting this national award.

About Krishi Karman Awards:

These awards were started by the Union Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare in 2010-11 to reward the best performing States in the production of foodgrains and individual crops of Rice, Wheat, Pulses and Coarse Cereals. Total, eight awards are given as below

Three for the States with highest foodgrains production in three identified categories-large, medium and small.

Five awards for highest production under each of the crops Rice, Wheat, Pulses, Coarse Cereals and Oilseeds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current Affair Today © 2018