Vidarbha Won Ranji Trophy 2017 Tournament

Cricket team of Vidarbha has won the 2017 Ranji cricket tournament by defeating Delhi in the final. This is the first Ranji Trophy title for Vidarbha cricket team. Vidarbha team was given a target of just 29 which the team got comfortably by the loss of one wicket. After getting 252 runs lead, bowlers of Vidarbha bowled very well and restricted Delhi cricket team at a score of 280 runs.

The toss was won by Vidarbha and the team selected to bowl first and was able to restrict Delhi at 295 in the first innings. Rajneesh Gurbani from Vidarbha picked up six wickets. While chasing, the only wicket lost by Vidarbha while chasing a small target of 29 run was the skipper Faiz Fazal.

About Ranji Trophy:

Ranji Trophy is one of the most important domestic level cricket tournament in India. It is the entry door for players to play in National team. The tournament is played between teams representing regional cricket associations. It was first started in 1934 and is named after England and Sussex cricketer Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji. Mumbai has won the trophy for maximum number of times that is for 41 times out of 45 finals played.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current Affair Today © 2018