Nepal, Scotland, Netherlands and UAE included in ODI rankings list

Nepal, Scotland, Netherlands and UAE included in ODI rankings list

The International Cricket council has included four new nation’s teams into it ODI ranking list. These new teams included by ICC ranking are Nepal, Scotland, Netherlands and UAE. These teams are added along with other existing 12 countries.

How Teams of these nations secured place?

Netherlands won the ICC World Cricket League Championship last year and thus secured an ODI status. Rest of three teams that are Scotland, Nepal and the UAE were given the status of ODI playing nation after they finished as the three leading associates (along with the Dutch) in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018.

The points and ranking status:-

Scotland with 28 points is placed at 13th position. It is just 10 points behind Ireland (12th place). The Netherlands have 13 rating points whereas UAE has 18 points and is at 14th place.

How the points were calculated?

Each team is given points for playing an ODI match against the opposition. In these teams rating are calculated in such a way that points and matches played between May 1 2015 and April 30, 2017 are given fifty percent weightage. While 100% weightage will be given to matches played May 1, 2017. Below is the criteria on which initial rankings for the four teams were calculated:

  • All ODIs played by Scotland and the UAE against Full Members and against each other since May 2015.
  • Non-ODIs played by the Netherlands and Nepal against Full Members, Scotland and the UAE as part of the ICC World Cup Qualifying tournament 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current Affair Today © 2018