States and Capitals of India List With Union Territories

States and Capitals Of India List With Union Territories

Find out detailed List of states and capitals of India for competitive exams like Railways RRB, Bank PO, Bank Clerk, LIC, Navy, Air Force, Army etc.

India also known as Republic of India is country located in South Asia region. It is a biggest country in terms of area and population. Its is at second placer after China in terms of population. Based on size, India is divided into 29 states and 7 Union Territories. Each of 29 states have their own leader called as Chief Minister who rules state. While Union Territories (except Delhi and Puducherry) a are directly ruled by Government of India or Center government.

States and Capitals of India Importance

Questions on India’s States and Capitals are generally asked in exams. Ignoring this can cost you a lot. If your preparation on this topic is well then you can attempt Indian States related questions almost in no time. The details we provide can be easily remembered by candidates. Extra information like states establishment and other may also be asked in competitive exams.

All States and Capitals of India

How many states are India?

Currently there are 29 states and 7 Union Territories in India. Telangana was latest to be added in southern India. Below is the complete list Indian states with their Capitals, formation day in alphabetical order.

List of states and capitals of India

Name Of State Capital Established On
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad 1 November 1956
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar February 20, 1987
Assam Dispur 15 August 1947
Chhattisgarh Raipur 1 November 2000
Goa Panaji 30 May 1987
Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May 1960
Haryana Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25 January 1971
Jammu & Kashmir Jammu (Winter Capital) & Srinagar (Summer Capital) 26 October 1947
Jharkhand Ranchi 15 November 2000
Karnataka Bengaluru 1 November 1956
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 31 October 1956
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1 November 1956
Maharashtra Mumbai 1 May 1960
Manipur Imphal 21 January 1972
Meghalaya Shillong 21 January 1972
Mizoram Aizawl 20 February 1987
Nagaland Kohima 1 December 1963
Orissa Bhubaneshwar 1 April 1936
Punjab (Current) Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Rajasthan Jaipur 1 November 1956
Sikkim Gangtok 16 May 1975
Tamil Nadu Chennai 1773
Telangana Hyderabad 2 June 2014
Tripura Agartala 21 January 1972
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 25 January 1950
Uttarakhand Dehradun 9 November 2000
West Bengal Kolkata 1 November 1956

Union territories of India with capitals

List of Union territories in India and Their Capitals. Union Territories of India are the regions which are directly controlled by the Union Government. Just like Governor in every state, every UT has its own Lieutenant-Governor. As Union Territories are controlled directly by center government, there is no Chief Minister in the state except Delhi and Puducherry.

Name of UT Capital Established on
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 November 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Dadar and Nagar Haveli Silvassa 11 August 1961
Daman and Diu Daman 30 May 1987
Delhi Delhi 1956
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 November 1956
Puducherry Puducherry De facto transfer to India‎ on ‎1 November 1954

Must Read

Common Human Diseases List (Caused by Bacteria, Virus, Fungi, Protozoa)

List of Famous Books and Their Authors

List of International Organizations with Headquarters

List of states and capitals of India Important General Knowledge

Every competitive examination contains some certain questions related to Indian States such as : Which is smallest state of India? Name of Largest State in India? After reading below information you will be able to answer some common but very important questions regarding States of India.

Largest State in India by Area: Rajasthan

Smallest State of India (Area Wise): Goa

largest state by population in India: Uttar Pradesh

Smallest Indian State (By Population): Sikkim

State having maximum borders shared with other states: Uttar Pradesh

State with Longest International Land Border: West Bengal

Longest Coastline state of India: Gujarat

State with highest percentage of area covered by Forest: Mizoram

Current Affair Today © 2018