Indian Government Named Nine new Cities Under Smart City Mission

Indian Government named nine new cities under Smart City Mission on 19th of Janurary, 2018. Minister of State, Housing & Urban Affairs, Hardeep S Puri made the announcement regarding the inclusion of new cities.

The names of nine new cities under Smart city Mission are :Silvassa (Dadra and Nagar Haveli), Erode (Tamil Nadu), Diu (Daman & Diu), Bihar Sharif (Bihar), Bareilly (Uttar Pradesh), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh), Saharanpur (Uttar Pradesh) and Kavaratti (Lakshadweep).

The cities have been added at a proposed investment of RS. Rs. 12824 crore and with this total budget of investments in smart city mission till now from start in 2015 has reached Rs.203979 crore.

Smart City Mission: This was the mission launched by the government of India in 2015 to transform 100 cities of India into smart cities. The aim is to make cities more convenient for citizens. In start total 99 cities were selected. Till now after the inclusion of nine new cities in Smart City Mission, total cities number has reached 108.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current Affair Today © 2018