Classification of Planets, Dwarf Planets, Inner-Outer Planets

Classification of Planets of Solar system

The Planets of Solar System may be classified into two types depending on their location with respect to Sun. A part from that there are some other concepts called as Dwarf Planets, inferior and Superior planets. Let us discuss all this in detail:

1. Inner Planets:

The planets which revolve near to Sun are called as inner planets. First four planets i.e Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars all are inner planets. Inner planets are also known as Terrestrial or Rocky Planets.

2. Outer Planets:

Rest of the planets Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune falls under the category of Outer planets of Solar System. Thy are far away from the Sun. Jovian or Gaseous planets are the other two names of outer planets.

Superior and inferior planets are also two terms which are used for classification of Planets of Solar system. Mercury and Venus comes under the category of Inferior Planets whereas Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are the Superior planets.

Take a look at the Picture below for better understanding:

Classification of Planets of Solar System


Dwarf Planets:

As per the International Astronomical Unit (IAU), Dwarf Planets are the kinds of planets which are also in the direct orbit of the Sun. They are massive enough like a planet of solar system and their shape is also controlled by Gravitational forces but they have no clear neighbourhood.

Pluto is the latest to be identified as Dwarf Planet. Earlier it was considered as ninth planet of solar system since its discovery in 1930s but in 2006, International Astronomical Union said that Pluto should no longer to be considered as Planet.

Also Check : Trick to Remember Planets of Solar System

List of Dwarf Planets of Solar System

Pluto, Ceres, Eris, Makemake and Haumea are the other Dwarf planets of our Solar System.

Current Affair Today © 2018