Priyanka Chopra chosen brand ambassador of skill India campaign

admin June 28, 2017 Technology
priyanka chopra former miss world became skill India brand ambassador

Former miss world and actress Priyanka Chopra has been chosen as brand ambassador of Government’s skill India campaign. She will use her stardom to motivate young generation of India to participate in this unique skills development programme and to improve their abilities.

This skill India campaign was introduced in 2015 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Earlier captain of Indian cricket team Virat Kohli, batting legend Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar and Bollywood actors Amitabh Bachhan, Sidharth Malhotra, Singer Mohit Chauhan and actress Shabana Aazmi had also become the brand ambassadors of the programme.

The Skill India Programme is led by Manish Kumar, who is CEO and MD of the organization. The aim of this programme is to train 40 crore young individuals by the end of 2022.

Palwinder kaur shergill appointed as Judge of supreme court in Canada

admin June 25, 2017 Technology
Palbinder Kaur Shergil- First Sikh woman Supreme court Judge

Palwinder kaur shergill of Indian origin has been appointed as the Judge of supreme court in Canada, a proud moment for all Indians. She has become the first Turbaned Sikh woman to be appointed to this prestigious post. Her appointment was announced by Attorney general of Canada Jody Wilson-Raybould on Friday. She is going to replace Justice EA Arnold-Bailey who had retired from his services on May 31.

Palwinder is a from Rurka Kalan, a village in Jalandhar. She went to Canada with her family when she was just four years old. Later she was married to a family from Jagatpur village near Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar (Nawanshahr). She is a law graduate from Saskatchewan university and was practicing as lawyer and mediator at her own law firm named as Shergill & Company, Trial Lawyers.

Throughout her career she has been fighting for rights of Sikh community in Canada and became more famous when she represented interests of Sikh community to allow Sikh students to wear kirpan (ceremonial dagger) in schools.

The appointment of Shergill as Judge is another milestone for Sikh community as well to all Indians.

Bharat Gaurav Awards distributed by USA NRI Community

admin June 7, 2017 Technology
bharat gaurav awards 2017 ceremony

Bharat Gaurav Awards will be distributed to various famous personalities of India by the Non Resident Indian (NRI) community of USA on 9th June, 2017 at the United Nations Hall, New York. Bollywood film maker Madhur Bhandarkar is one among the other recipients which are:

1. Spritiual Leader Sri Sri Ravi Shankar
2. Late Kalpna Chawla
3. Dr. Bindeshwar Pathak(Founder of Sulabh International)
4. Acharya Lokesh Muni

More about Bharat Gaurav Award: 

Bharat Gaurav awards are distributed by the USA NRI community to the Indians who have done or are doing good work in their perspective areas or have achieved any milestone. In 2016, Neerja Bhanot who saved lives of many passengers by scarifying her own life was given the Bharat Gaurav Award.

Madhur Bhandarkar has been honored for his great and realistic work in the Hindi cinema industry. He has worked as an assistant director under Ram Gopal Verma and started his direction career with movie Trishakti (1999). He has also been honored with Padma Shri in 2016 by the Government of India for his brilliant movies reflecting the actuality of the world.

Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Tripura chosen for Krishi Karman Awards

admin April 20, 2017 Technology

Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Tripura have been chosen for the Krishi Karman awards for 2015-16 for their good performance in the production of food grains.

The awards were divided into three categories Large, medium and small.

Here is how states has been awarded as per the categories:

Tamil Nadu chosen in large category for producing more than 10 million tonnes
Himachal Pradesh is under medium category that ranges from 1 to 10 million tonnes production

Tripura for small category less than 1 million tonnes.

Meghalaya state will also get commendation prize of Rs 1 crore cash for total food grain production.

During the year 2015-2016, Tamil Nadu had produced 130 lakh tonnes of foodgrains and it is the highest in the last five years.

For this acheivement, Tamil Nadu will receive prize money of Rs 5 crore. This is the fourth time Tamil Nadu is getting this prize. Earlier Tamil Nadu had bagged the award in 2011-12 for highest food grains production, in 2013-14 for highest pulses production and in 2014-15 for highest coarse cereals production.

Tripura has been selected for the Krishi Karman Award 2015-16 in small category states for a commendable increase in food grain production.

Total 825,000 tonnes of food grain in 2016 were produced by the state. A cash award of Rs five crore will also be given to Tripura. It is the second time Tripura getting this national award.

About Krishi Karman Awards:

These awards were started by the Union Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare in 2010-11 to reward the best performing States in the production of foodgrains and individual crops of Rice, Wheat, Pulses and Coarse Cereals. Total, eight awards are given as below

Three for the States with highest foodgrains production in three identified categories-large, medium and small.

Five awards for highest production under each of the crops Rice, Wheat, Pulses, Coarse Cereals and Oilseeds.

Sakshi Malik and Dipa Karmakar Honoured Padma Shri Award

admin April 17, 2017 Technology
Padma Awards 2017

Padma awards were conferred by President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. Total 89 people are awarded by the President for their exceptional work in various fields.
Gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Wrestler Sakshi Malik, Chef Sanjeev Kapoor and Discus Thrower Vikas Gowda got Padam Shri Award for exceptional work in their respective fields.

President gave out 7 Padma Vibhushan awards, 7 Padma Bhushan awards and 75 Padma Shri Awards. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh and other dignitaries were also present at the ceremony.
Here is the list of awardees important from Current Affairs Point of view:

Padma Shri
Dr Subroto Das
Jitendra Nath Goswami
Sanjeev Kapoor
Discus Thrower Vikas Gowda
Gymnast Dipa Karmakar
Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu
Wrestler Sakshi Malik

Padma Bhushan

Pandit Vishwa Mohan
Padma Vibhushan
Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev